The North Carolina pork industry is prepared for the approach of Hurricane Dorian and is ready to respond as necessary to protect human health, animals and the environment. Surveying by the North Carolina Pork Council indicates that anaerobic treatment lagoons have been well managed through the crop-growing season and can receive the amounts of rain forecasted.

North Carolina hog farmers have seen about 20 hurricanes over the past 20 years. Our farmers, veterinarians, environmental specialists and other experts have, working with state regulators and other partners, made tremendous strides in preparation for storms. These measures include the closure of more than 100 swine farms that were in flood-prone areas. Click below to keep reading…

The African swine fever (ASF) outbreak in China and in many other countries around the world is wreaking havoc on the international pork industry. Fortunately, ASF is not in the United States at this time, but the possibility of it or other foreign animal disease (FAD) means that American pig farmers must take the necessary steps to protect their farms and the domestic pork industry.

African swine fever is a viral disease impacting only pigs, not people — so it is not a public health threat nor a food-safety concern.

Pork is safe to eat. African swine fever is not in the United States. U.S. pigs are not affected by the African swine fever (ASF) outbreaks in other countries, to date.

The USDA does not allow the importation of pigs or fresh pork products into the U.S. from areas or regions of the world that are reported positive for the ASF virus.


October 16, 2019

Invitation to a pig show turns into a business opportunity for Transylvania County girl

It was an invitation to a livestock show that turned the McNealys into a pig family. Watching her friend parade around a show ring with a pig, 9-year-old Ella McNealy was hooked, and she soon convinced her parents to let her start showing pigs. There was a definite learning curve for the Transylvania County family. […]

Read More

October 17, 2019

N.C. State Fair

The NC Pork Council will be in the Graham Building to promote North Carolina’s pork industry throughout the State Fair.

Read More